Non-Executive Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Beatrice Fraenkel, Chairman

Appointed 1 December 2008, Beatrice’s terms ends 30 April 2022. She is Chairman of the Board of Directors, the Council of Governors, and the Remuneration and Terms of Service Committee.

Beatrice is an ergonomist and industrial designer. She is Director of Sandown Property Company Ltd and Sandown Property Holding Company Ltd (1973 to date). Beatrice is a Trustee of the Design Council (Dec 2018 to date), a Trustee of NHS Providers and a board member of the Mental Health Board of the NHS Confederation. She has an honorary fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architecture and sits on Design review panels. 

Beatrice was Chairman of the Architect’s Registration Board (until Aug 2016) and Liverpool City Councillor from 1986 to 2017 specialising in regeneration and economic development. Beatrice was previously Chairman of the Ropewalks Partnership (Liverpool), Independent Chairman of the North West Regional Centre of Excellence and Chairman of South Liverpool Primary Care Trust and Cosmopolitan Housing Association. She also was a Non-Executive Director on the Standards Board for England (DCLG appointment).



Anya Ahmed, Non Executive Director

Anya was appointed on 30 September 2020, Anya’s 3-year term ends on 29 September 2023.

Anya is Professor of Wellbeing and Communities at Manchester Metropolitan University with an academic career spanning over 25 years. She has previous experience as a housing practitioner, trainer and consultant. She conducts research on less-heard communities in a variety of contexts including ageing, migration, BAME communities, dementia, housing, homelessness, and health and social care.

She is a Board Member for the Somali Adult Social Care Agency based in Manchester and a member of Mosscare St Vincents’ Housing Association’s Customers and Communities Committee. She is a Trustee for Knowledge for Change, a charity which runs ethical placements for health and social care professionals in Africa. She is Treasurer of the Social Policy Association.

Member of the People Committee, the Resources Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Aislinn O'Dwyer, Non Executive Director

Aislinn was appointed on 11 October 2018 and her terms ends on 10 October 2021

Aislinn is a public health professional with a community nursing background with more than 25 years strategic management experience across both the NHS and local government, including as a Public Health Consultant with UK Med, Lancashire County Council, Cumbria & Lancashire SHA and North West RHA, as well as Director of Public Health at Blackburn with Darwen PCT, West Lancashire PCT. Aislinn is a Fellow of the Faculty of Public Health and is the Vice Chair of Savera UK, a Liverpool-based charity.

Chair of the People Committee, member of the Quality Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.


Dr Murray Freeman, Non Executive Director

Murray was appointed on 8 May 2018 and his term ends on 7 May 2021.

Murray has been a GP in Wirral since 1981. He retired from practice in March 2019. As well as being a GP, he has been involved in a wide range of NHS organisations, committees and activities including:

  • Specialist adviser, Care Quality Commission (2014 to present)
  • Non-executive director, Wirral Community NHS Foundation Trust (2012 to 2108)
  • GP executive board member, Wirral Health Commissioning Consortium (2010 to 2012)
  • Lead for cancer and end of life care, NHS Wirral/Merseyside and Cheshire Cancer Network (1999 to 2002)
  • Medical Director, Wirral Community Healthcare NHS Trust (1994 to 1996).

He is a Trustee of Autism Together and Make it Happen, both Wirral based charities. He is also a Trustee of Oak Trees Multi Academy Trust on Wirral.

Murray is the Mental Health Act lead for the Trust and chairs the Mental Health Act managers committee. He is also the learning from deaths/serious incident lead.

Member of the Quality Committee, the Audit Committee and the Remuneration Committee. Chair of the Mental Health Act Managers Sub-Committee.


Gaynor Thomason, Non Executive Director

Gaynor was appointed on 23 May 2017 and her terms ends on 22 May 2023.

Now a management consultant, until 2017 Gaynor was Regional Director of Nursing (North) at NHS Improvement and from October 2014 to March 2016 was Nurse Director (North) at the NHS Trust Development Authority.  Prior to this she was Director of Nursing & Quality at NHS England’s Merseyside Area Team (including a secondment as Portfolio Director for Specialised Commissioning) (2013 – 2014) and from 2002 to 2013 held the roles of Interim Chief Executive, Deputy Chief Executive / Director of Nursing & Quality and Director of Nursing Quality & Environment at the Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust.

Chair of the Quality Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.

Member of the Chief Nursing Officer of England’s Exceptional Leaders network to support senior nurses within the NHS.


Gerry O’Keeffe, Vice Chair and Senior Independent Director

Gerry was appointed on 18 April 2013 and his term ends on 30 April 2022 (previously a non-voting member from December 2012).

Currently retired, he worked for CSC from 2000 until 2014 and was their Chief Operating Officer from 2011, reporting to the CEO for UK & Ireland, responsible for ensuring P&L, Client Satisfaction and revenue growth were delivered by all parts of the business. Other roles at CSC included Head of UK Healthcare Business Unit (2007-11), Vice President of the NHS Account (2006-07), New Business Capture Executive (2005-06) and Chief Operating Officer National Grid Account (2003-05).

He has lifetime experience of working in information technology and consulting businesses, strong business profit and loss experience in many complex global companies, leadership experience managing large teams in both UK and international companies and executive leadership experience of large transformational programmes to meet changing business needs. 

Member of the Audit Committee, the Resources Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Nick Williams, Non Executive Director

Nick was appointed on 1 January 2014 and his term ends on 30 April 2022.

Nick currently has operational responsibility for Group Transformation at Lloyds Banking Group, accountable for the 18,000 workforce and £3 billion investment made annually to drive the technology, data and digital transformation across the organisation. Prior to this role Nick has held numerous leadership roles in commercial banking, retail and running the Digital Bank. Nick is also a Government advisor on Digital Skills, advisory Board member at Digital Leaders UK and founding Board member of He has a Master’s degree in chemical engineering.

Member of the Audit Committee, the Resources Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Pamela Williams, Non Executive Director

Pamela was appointed on 15 June 2015 and her terms ends 30 April 2022.

Pamela has a degree in Economics and is a qualified accountant and member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy.  Prior to her retirement in 2015, she had over 20 years experience operating at Board level in a wide range of local authorities, most recently as Executive Director of Finance at Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council (2007-2015).  Pamela also holds Non Executive Director and Audit Committee Chair positions with Wirral Evolutions and Muir Group Housing Association.

Chair of the Audit Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.