woman drinking tea

Protected Characteristic - Sex

Under the Equality Act 2010 it is unlawful to discriminate against someone because of their sex (this includes transgender)

There are four types of sex discrimination.

1. Direct which means a person is discriminated against because of their sex.

2. Indirect which means a person will be discriminated against because policies, rules, procedures may impact negatively on someone because of their sex.

3. Harassment when unwanted conduct related to sex has the effect of violating an individual's dignity or creating an intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment for that person

4. Victimisation is when an employee has reported or supported a complaint around sex discrimination and is then treated unfairly.

All employers must comply to the requirements of the Equality Act 2010 and have in place policies to promote equality and manage discrimination.

Further resources are available on the links below.

acas Promoting employment relations and HR excellence

Equality and Human Rights Commission

Discrimination Your Rights

Return to Equality and Human rights page